f

 

 

Archive 6

 

 
 

Daily News Links:

 

Local News Sites:

City Paper
In Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh BusinessTimes
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Pittsburgh Tribune-Review

Real Pittsburgh

Hit Counter

Archive One: from December 10, 2002 to February 25th, 2000

Archive 2

November 2002 to March 4th 2003

Archives (Older)

Archive 3

March 4 thru June 20th

Archive 4

April 13 - April 26th

experiment in permalinking that I'm stopping...you can find everything I write in Google, if I'm not banned...

Archive5

(May 1st through Aug 20th)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Magazines:

Wired Magazine

Forbes Magazine

Fortune Magazine

Business Week

The Sciences

Discover

Scientific American

Industry Standard

Business 2.0

Red Herring

Upside

MIT Technology Review

PC World

PC Magazine

Maximum PC

Fast Company

Popular Science

Popular Mechanics

Silicon Alley

 

 



Your Sporadic Meme

Sporadic updates Monday through Friday. Unless the Comet Hits.

Magscans/Sporadic Meme/Vast Wasteland/Majic 12 Contents/ M12 Blog/Features

(This feature is updated every several days at the main page for www.threerivertechreview.com. This is more like an archive page now in case anybody is reading.)

 

This is yet another scary good animated gif from Tom Moody.

November 4th

Obviously, I'm disappointed about the election results. I'm also genuinely frightened for the future of my country and I'm starting to be a little frightened by at least a slight majority of half the people in my country. 

I am, however, proud of the fact that I worked hard at ACT. ACT and MoveOn and ACORN and others in the America Votes coalition did a great job of winning states that Kerry probably would have lost without us, such as Wisconsin, Michigan and Pennsylvania.  IN fact, Pittsburgh ACT was thinking about closing up shop on the 15th. I hope they reconsider. I'd certainly be happy to stay on board.

And yes I really wanted to take down that upside down distress flag in the lefthand corner of the site. I guess I should just make it bigger.

Here's the two best Post Mortems I read that speak for me. Here's one from Eric Alterman:

Let’s face it.  It’s not Kerry’s fault.  It’s not Nader’s fault (this time).  It’s not the media’s fault (though they do bear a heavy responsibility for much of what ails our political system). It’s not “our” fault either. The problem is just this:  Slightly more than half of the citizens of this country simply do not care about what those of us in the “reality-based community” say or believe about anything.

 They don’t care that Iraq is turning into murderous quicksand and a killing field for our children.  They don’t care that the Bush presidency has made us less safe by creating more terrorists, inspiring more anti-American hatred and refusing to engage in the hard work that would be necessary to make a meaningful dent in our myriad vulnerabilities at home.  They don’t care that he has mortgaged our children’s future to give trillions to the wealthiest among us.  They don’t care that the economy continues to hemorrhage well-paying jobs and replace them with Wal-Mart; that the number without health insurance is over forty million and rising.  They don’t care that Medicare premiums are rising to fund the coffers of pharmaceutical companies.  They don’t care that the air they breathe and the water they drink is being slowly poisoned and though they call themselves conservatives, they even don’t care that the size of the government and its share of our national income has increased by roughly a quarter in just four years.  This is not a world of rational debate and issue preference.

It’s one of “them” and “us.”  He’s one of “them” and not one of “us” and that’s all they care about.  True it’s an illusion.  After all, Bush is a millionaire’s son who went to Yale and Harvard and sat out Vietnam, not even bothering to show up for his cushy National Guard duty, and succeeded only in trading on his father’s name and connections in adult life.  But somehow, they feel he understands them.  He speaks their language.  Our guys don’t.  And unless they learn it, we will continue to condemn this country and those parts of the world it affects to a regime of malign neglect at best—malignant and malicious assault at worse. 

Given the media’s talent for pandering to their lowest common denominator, the things that have driven us crazy about their past pathetic performance are bound to get a lot worse.  Most of us—readers and writers of this web log and peoplelikeus-- derive an awful lot of benefit from being Americans.  We owe it to our better selves, and though it sounds horribly clichéd, to our children-- not to walk away from this battle.  I will admit, however, it’s pretty damn hard to see through this fog just where to turn before we march.

And there's Tbogg quoted from Tom Tomorrow:

TBogg is not sounding like an optimist this morning:

Four more years of American soldiers being used as cannon fodder.

Four more years of scientific decisions being made by people who believe in a ghost in the clouds.

Four more years of debt that our children and grandchildren will have to pay off.

Four more years of racists and lunatics for judicial appointments

Four more years of looting the treasury and squandering it on corporate cronies.

Four more years of making enemies faster than we can kill them.

Four more years of fear and darkness and racism and hatred and stupidity and guns and bad country music.

I look at the big map and all of the red in flyover country and I feel like I've been locked in a room with the slow learners. We have become the country that pulls a dry cleaning bag over its head to play astronaut.

October 21

Welp, I've been busy lately bringin' a government down, to paraphrase the justly underrated pop band Love and Money from their tune "Hallelujah Man". Or at least that's what I'm hoping that I'm doing with America Coming Together or ACT.

 

 

This is some of Tom Moody's, most underrated blogger on the web, impressive artwork. He's also still doing some experiments with animated GIFs.

 

September 20th

I posted this recently at Cyborg Democracy:

Kurzweil Claims He Hasn't Aged for 10 Years 

 

I don't recall reading this here. I saw the link sometime ago over at "Fight Aging!"

Ray Kurzweil has a new book coming out and he did an interview about it for NPR's "The Point". That interview is here.

It features two, frankly, startling claims. One: Ray apparently came up with his own cure for his type II diabetes. And two: Ray can measure his age at the cellular level and apparently he hasn't aged for ten years. Well, I have to admit that does sound impressive. I sure hope James can snag him for an interview over at Changesurfer. Then again, I'm still waiting for my Ken Macleod vs. Stephen Den Beste Ultimate Fighting Championship Death Match said the disillusioned fan and fellow karass member.

I wonder if his therapies are cheap. I know a science fictional inventor like Kurzweil can afford the best stuff. Is there truly an affordable immortality plan for the materially challenged?

 

As per usual, I have to head out for work as I do this. So a plethora of new links will be available tonight after midnight...I'm also working on moving most of my online efforts toward my new online paper.

 

This is a Frank Frazetta black and white. More on Frank here.

 

 

 

New Hilarious counter-propaganda toons' from disgraced yet still gifted cartoonist Micah Wright.

 

September 9th

James is probably way too bashful to include a pic of himself at the recent Hugo Award ceremonies. But I'm not. What's interesting is that this pic was taken by El Jefe, who writes one of the more interesting blogs out there called "Gravity Lens". I find this interesting because both El Jefe and James are charter members of what Kurt Vonneget called the "karass". I am now convinced that these two are in my personal karass. Perhaps James is some kind of focal point or Wampeter. Sounds like something The Question should investigate...

Definition, keeping in mind that I'm a an atheist who thinks religion is basically the foma:

A karass is a "team [of people] that do[es] God's Will without ever discovering what they are doing". [ 1 ] Humanity is organized into many such teams. One can try to discover "the limits of [one's] karass and the nature of the work God Almighty has had it do ... but such investigations are bound to be incomplete." [ 2 ]

And for the record, "foma" is defined thus, from memory:

"The harmless untruths that keep us happy, healthy, wealthy and wise."

 

I didn't read anything about the top 25 Censored Stories in any of the Pittsburgh major papers. (God knows I wouldn't see anything about these stories in my car crashed murderous local television media. I no longer have hope for them.)...and I guess that's the point about why Pittsburgh needs an online paper like this one. By the way, this paper isn't ready yet, but it needs to be done now and so I'm starting. What did Kirk say Evil Spock with goatee in "Mirror Universe" about what one man could do...? (I just looked it up: "In every revolution there is one man with a vision"...)

Out of the 25 the ones that struck me as the most frightful were: The Bush admininstration censorship of science, those very scary electronic voting machines and their lack of a paper trail, and the evils of Wal Mart. What was also very informative were all the cool links these stories came with.

Here's just a few I'll be checking out:

Global Issues Org: For all of you who remember that groundbreaking "Global Reach" book about the rise of the multinationals here's your companion website.

Free Press: This one is done by Robert McChesney, one of the most important corporate media critics out there, and it's a clearinghouse of ideas of why the corporate media doesn't inform us very well about pretty much anything.

The Center for Digital Democracy: I already link to this site at Three River Tech but this is still really really impressive. This is must reading if you'd like the Internet to stay at buffet prices and not charged the way you're charged for cell phone services. Were you aware that the Brand X court case might determine the future cost of broadband? Now I know...
 

 

September 7th

Doc Menlo's Sensual Liberation Army has moved here. He's mixing politics with sex. He should get a zillion hits. (Note to self: Don't forget to steal this idea.)

On the Pop Science front, as opposed to the soft porn front, The Speculist has moved his site. Check out the very stylish graphic and the swirling galactic S. I was the one who talked Phil into applying the Creative Commons license online toward his fiction for better or worse.

Here's everything that you wanted to know about Strategies for Engineered Negligible Senescence or SENS that you were afraid to ask...

 

Aug. 29

The above pic is from a movie that Neil Gaiman is involved with, I think. More info here. Thanks again to patently evil Gravity Lens guy...Actually, this is something his friend, Dave McKean, is working on....

August 29th

Pulp, a rather ineffectual Pittsburgh weekly that wouldn't hire me, has gone under. But there is something interesting called "Deek Magazine" that could replace it.

 

August 26, 2004

 

Links N' Stuff!

Iraqis Can Easily Disrupt Oil Supplies
"He Who Controls Arrakis controls the spice. And he who Controls the spice Controls ...")

Monday, August 23, 2004

I actually submitted this to the ACT Blog (Full Disclosure: I now work fulltime for ACT) but it turns out Jack Valenti works right down the hall so it kinda got cut....

Got Inspiring Left DVD Movies?



We just happen to have DVD players in our vehicles. It can often take an hour to get to turf in hilly Pittsburgh--one of the toughest places physically to canvass-- as we go out to door knock. So we watch movies. A colleague of mine has a "connection"--which she won't share with me and that I resent--which supplies her with the newest and no doubt completely legal versions of just opening movies like "I Robot", "Catwoman" and "White Chicks", often replete with audible audience participation. I should mention that I'm a terribly naive person.

I was hoping that someone who reads this blog might send the Pittsburgh ACT office a no doubt equally legal version of more politically inspiring fare, such as the new Mike Moore movie. Or, if possible, someone could send a movie that I actually thought was a little better than F911:
A movie called "The Corporation". The movie actually features Mike Moore and wholeheartedly rips off his style, which is great. The world needs more funny progressive propaganda. The movie also featured two reporters that star in this book. Turns out that a Fox News affiliate values ad revenue above the public's need to know. Who knew.

In one of my columns, I ask George Soros to start a privately funded American BBC that can write about the abuses of corporate power without fear of censorship or cancellation. He's done it before and he needs to do it here. There has to be a counterpart to Fox and MSNBC in order for our message to get out. Why have the Swift Boat ads been so effective? Because it's more likely for GOP slanders and lies to be repeated over and over through the right wing talk radio/Fox News megaphone nexus. The left needs a room of its own and now. I even wrote an outline as to how you could do it. The film also features Naomi Klein who I think is the world's best spokeswoman concerning what can only be called Third World slavery conditions. It's a must see for progressives and even offers some hopeful solutions.

Any other ideas as to what movies might inspire you to canvass more passionately? Z? Missing? Man of Iron?
Supersize Me? And can you mail those perfectly legal DVD copies to the Pittsburgh ACT office?

Philip Shropshire ran a consumer group, worked as a general assignment reporter and sold white box computers. He has written for Locus Online, American Times, Tech Central Station and more alternative weeklies than he can remember. He believes in the future. His main site is Three River Tech Review and you can reach him at
pshropshire@yahoo.com.

posted by Philip Shropshire at 7:14 AM 0 comments

 

 

 

August 11th

This is from Alex Nino, again. Check out his bio. I'm not sure that it's in Spanish makes much of a difference. A lot of those 70s Heavy Metal stories left you with that feeling.

This movie finally came to Pittsburgh and I watched it Monday evening. From what I had read, I thought it would be a more interesting movie than F 911 and I was right. It makes a number of interesting arguments--well formulated in left circles--but that I had never seen on a big screen. It also features a number of left heroes--there's a lot of Mike Moore in this film and they steal the man's style without shame or guilt and it works (the world needs more funny progressive propaganda)--including Naomi Klein (my fave) and Noam Chomsky and some people from the other side that say just terribly untrue and silly things. We get the head of Shell, the company that spouts all kinds of pollutants and is probably directly or indirectly responsible for the deaths of a number of Nigerian activists, telling me how much he cares about the world's ecosphere. We get a nice overview of how corporations just looove fascists and dictators, with supporting footage of companies that really really liked the Hitler/Mussolini style. I highly recommend it if it comes to your city....

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the great great Alex Nino, who I remember from Warren and Heavy Metal. He's just a stunning artist. You can find an American bio here and you can also find a very nice layout of what I think is a comic I originally read in Heavy Metal in the seventies. (1978 it turns out.) This is the Spanish version. Thanks to Gravity Lens for the link idea...Damn you Gravity Lens guy. You will Rue the Day...

July 25th

I got a really great letter from Mark Plus, who I think used to roam the message boards at
 Nanodot with me from days back. I haven't posted there in awhile. I probably should. Anyway, here's his letter responding to my latest Better Humans column
.
 
  Hello, Philip Shropshire.
 
I happen to agree with the critique that wage slavery is oppressive (refer to Bob Black's essays, readily available on the Web, "The Abolition of Work" and "The Libertarian as Conservative"). A social movement serious about increasing freedom would have to find ways to reduce the amount of nonsensical activities called "work" in our so-called "services" economy, because more and more of such "work" has been disconnected from tangible production and mainly acts to keep people under subjection. I honestly don't see what it accomplishes to multiply the numbers of "jobs" in retail, fast food, telemarketing and other forms of useless humiliation and paper shuffling. Whether such tasks are performed or not has no effect on the amount of real goods that gets produced. (I've experienced more than enough of this degradation working in the hospitality industry for the past 13 years, a "career" I had absolutely no expectation of entering when I was in my teens and wanted to become a scientist [long story]. I can also see that a successful mass liberation from work will require people to stop making services demands on others, e.g., by not traveling nearly as much.)

Even much of the tangible stuff that winds up on the market wastes resources that could be put to much better uses by rationally defensible criteria (unless you've been hypnotized by "economics" that is). Despite all the propaganda about how "market forces" determine what gets produced, I'm not aware of any movie goer who ordered very expensive but unwatchable movies like Van Helsing, the budget for which could have revolutionized the field of engineered negligible senescence if spent properly. And, frankly, I could live without the mountains of junk food, Britney Spears CD's and novels about bible prophecy that the American economy piles up the marketplace and then harasses me to notice and buy.

Regards,
Mark Plus
 
 

This is kinda of a big big story. Nantech God Richard Smalley has been writing about how we should invest in alt fuels, in particular nan based solar cells. That's always been the crushing point about solar. It's not that we can't use it, it's that we can't use it so inexpensively that it can compete with oil or gas. There's a vast difference between recognizing this and adopting the unreal Den Bestian argument that this can never be done.

Read the whole thing as they say. I'm debating whether I should debunk this latest Den Beste missive.

Today using lead-acid storage batteries, such a unit for a house to store 100-kilowatt hours of electrical energy would take up a small room and cost more than $10,000.

Through advances in nanotechnology, it may be possible to shrink an equivalent unit to the size of a washer and drop the cost to $1,000. Among the approaches being developed today are nanotubes, nanowires and nanocomposites for batteries.

On another front, nanostructured membranes, nanohorn electrodes and nanocatalysts are helping to make fuel cells smaller, lighter and more affordable.

With research and entrepreneurial efforts, many schemes are likely to emerge to supply this local energy storage market that may expand to several billion units worldwide

posted by Philip Shropshire at 11:39 PM

 

 

 

 

I tried to find a really great Spiderman pic but it just wasn't there. So I went with an old comics Heavy Metal standard: Moebius. I really enjoyed the Spiderman movie. It was emotionally powerful in an odd kind of way. I thought the best scene was at the end when Kirsten Dunst tells him to chase after the sirens and she looks sad and solemn. Of course, the idea that an intelligent woman would leave a publisher's son and space hero and future villain seems a bit unrealistic. Sure, I can buy the fusion suns and the Octupus arms, but that's where the story left me with a fairy tale feel....

Meanwhile, in the cybercity, I've always been puzzled by Stephen Den Beste's hostility to alt fuels and I mentioned as much over at Future Pundit (Randall Parker) in the most sarcastic way possible:

Yeah, that whole slew of stories and startups was excellent. By the way, congrats for taking Den Beste on in terms of his completely anti-american view on alt energy. He has a can't do attitude. Is he French? What's his problem? Why oh why does he hate American innovation? And why isn't willing to spend at least 100 billion, or what we've spent on our splendid little war in Iraq, on research so that we can wean ourselves away from our oil fix...

What's also mentioned in those articles is the viewpoint of Smalley, who, unlike Frenchified Hate American innovation firsters like Steven Den Beste, thinks the United States should invest in alt energy. You can find his full take over there at Small Times...

I'm sure Den Beste has gone on record against 100 gig hard drives, private space flights and peer to peer networks as well because, you know, they just can't happen. It's a good debate over there as well. I thought about defending Randall, but he's really doing a great job all by himself...

 

Week of June 30

This is from Tom Moody's waycool site. He's been doing a lot of animated gifs lately. Can you tell? He also has an excellent review of Mike Moore's new movie. I saw it myself as an official member of the Vast Left Wing Conspiracy (hmmm, good name for a website) and it was emotionally compelling. And of course, it did something that all successful propaganda has to accomplish: It's a great piece of art.

July 4th

 

Here's an update on the corporate flag. Where's Halliburton?

My new column is also up at Better Humans. Here's an excerpt of my breathless prose:

"Today, I'm back at it in Pittsburgh, knocking on doors and asking people if they're registered to vote. You might ask yourself what this has to do with the transhumanist dream, where we live out our lives in fusion-driven Betterhumans space habitats, whiling away our several century lifespan seeking to understand every allusion and reference in the works of Joyce or Alan Moore, or actively partaking in the terraforming of Venus or Titan, or even studying up on that hot new personal genomic cosmetic item, the black rhino horn, grown wherever you like, with accessories.

The answer is that unless transhumanists think seriously about politics and self-promotion, this vision will always remain an interesting dream and not a reality. In fact, not only will you have to work for such a future—a future with real self-determination, no wage slavery and more than a vote every two or four years when all the real issues have already been settled—you will have to fight for it. And most likely, your opposition will be violently stupid people who refuse to give up what Carl Sagan described as the "demon-haunted world" and the obligatory yet soothing bliss stations—an eternity with Jesus and departed loved ones or Allah's 40 virgins—that go along with it."

Week of June 23rd

I'm totally psyched about this. Doesn't it look totally science-fictional? In a related note,  Better Humans, the premier (and I think only) left pro science publication out there, has this pro-space exploration column here. I'm kind of proud that I was the first columnist there to publicly come out in favor of space exploration. More of this, please. And when there is more of this...what's that great line from Kung Fu? "Time for you to go."

By the way, there's been a wealth of interesting work at Better Humans, and I'm not saying that just because I'm an associate editor and columnist there, but James Hughes wrote a great blueprint for what transhumanism should be. One of his diabolical plans involves putting out the Better Humans position in the media, as a counter to the Kass and McKibben pro-death memes out there. And sure enough, there's this Christian Science Monitor article where James is quoted. There are also excellent pieces by George Dvorsky and Russell Blackford and Simon Smith, my boss, who always writes excellent columns, especially when I miss a deadline...

Jack Ryan, the Republican nominee for the Illinois Senate and apparently not the Tom Clancy movie character, is clearly insane. It would seem this woman wasn't enough for him:

Or as one commentator phrased it over at Calpundit:

Any heterosexual man who needs a major kink to properly get off having sex with JERI RYAN is beyond perverted.

Posted by: frankly0 on June 22, 2004 at 2:34 PM | PERMALINK

And gooooooooo Obama!

I'm adding Doug Rushkoff and Fight Aging to the permalinks.

Here's something that I need to read and study: Thirty Essential Nanotechnology Studies, which is brought to us by our good pals at the Center for Responsible Nanotechnology. I got that link from Evil Incarnate Glenn Reynolds, who still thinks the war in Iraq is going well. Unfortunately, I feel that I must also indirectly link to Glenn's interview with Aubrey De Grey

 

 

 

 

 

 

That's our good friend the comedian from the Watchmen. He's what you might call the fascist superhero that the Comics Journal has been warning us about for all these years.

He also bears a striking similarity to this guy, who was featured in this now cancelled comic (Cancelled because of bad taste? We can only hope so...)

June 17

Harlan Ellison, my personal hero and whose style I have arguably ripped off from time to time, has settled his silly lawsuit against AOL and, of course, claimed victory...Delusion for a Dragonslayer, indeed.  I think Techdirt gets it right, and of course I got it the most right a long long time ago.

A while back, because I was kind of confused about his politics (he seemed to be wishing Naomi Klein an ironic death when she visited Iraq), I asked Bruce Sterling just what the Hell his politics were. He answers, indirectly, with this Wired column rant against the clearly anti-science policies of the Bush administration.

 

This is more of Syd Mead's work. His official site is here and this is where I got the pics.

By the way,  I was down for a week because of a bill that I forget to forward to my good friends at Network Solutions. I hope I remember better the next time...

June 9th

Update: You know when I mentioned what I thought would be a predictably mean-spirited Ted Rall response to the Reagan Death...? Well, that turned out to be true. Here's an excerpt:

...that Ronald Reagan didn't die in prison, where he belonged for starting an illegal, laughably unjustifiable war against Grenada under false pretenses (the "besieged" medical students later said they were nothing of the sort) and funneling arms to hostages during Iran-Contra.

Oh, and 9/11? That was his. Osama bin Laden and his fellow Afghan "freedom fighters" got their funding, and nasty weapons, from Reagan.

A real piece of work, Reagan ruined the federal budget, trashed education, alienated our friends and allies and made us a laughing stock around the world.

Hmmmm...sounds familiar.

Anyway, I'm sure he's turning crispy brown right about now
."

The original link is here. Rall has more commentary (his hate mail seems eerily familiar to what I get at Warblogger Watch) on this, as well as Tom Tomorrow. My personal quick take on Reagan: I had just voted for Anderson in the 1980 election. I was open minded, frankly, about the Republican Party. And then I remember Reagan trying to gut my student aid every single year I was in school. I also remembered  the Democratic Party congress restoring those cuts. That's why I tend to vote for the Democratic Party...

 

June 7th

If you want a nice measured response to Reagan's death, you might try Kathryn Cramer. If you're looking for an angry disrespectful Ted Rall-like response, then try Greg Palast. You have to go to his weblog, curiously without permalinks, and scroll down.

"Then the Reagan roaches mixed their cowardice with crime: taking cash from the hostage-takers to buy guns for the "contras" - the drug-runners of Nicaragua posing as freedom fighters.

I remember as a student in Berkeley the words screeching out of the bullhorn, "The Governor of the State of California, Ronald Reagan, hereby orders this demonstration to disperse" … and then came the teargas and the truncheons. And all the while, that fang-hiding grin from the Gipper.

In Chaguitillo, all night long, the farmers stayed awake to guard their kids from attack from Reagan's Contra terrorists. The farmers weren't even Sandinistas, those 'Commies' that our cracked-brained President told us were 'only a 48-hour drive from Texas.' What the hell would they want with Texas, anyway?

Nevertheless, the farmers, and their families, were Ronnie's targets.

In the deserted darkness of Chaguitillo, a TV blared. Weirdly, it was that third-rate gangster movie, "Brother Rat." Starring Ronald Reagan.

Well, my friends, you can rest easier tonight: the Rat is dead.

Killer, coward, conman. Ronald Reagan, good-bye and good riddance.
"

Whoops. Gotta head for work to help overthrow the Bush regime (I canvass for anti-bush supporters in the city of Pittsburgh and they actually pay me...)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think this is a painting by Gonzalo Mayo, but I'm not really sure.

Speaking of art, I discovered this new arts zine by a soon to be Pittsburgh Native. It's called Eclectic Ink.

May 20

I'm adding the Angry Arab, Nano-Tsunami, the ACT and SEIU sites/ blogs to my permalinks.

 

May 19

Here's an interesting article about the top ten conspiracy theories of the year. I like the one about how the Iraq war might be about oil. Shocking. On the other hand, the conspiracy theory that we're about to enter a worldwide global oil crisis would make the war for oil argument, which I've always believed by the way for readers who are just visiting, more sustainable. Here are two sites that are related. One is called the Coming Global Oil Crisis and the other features the first chapter of a book in the same vein.

 

This is from a Howard Chaykin alt future story.

 

Ted owns that of course. By the way, this is his newest outrage, along with his most recent column. I don't think either are that outrageous to be blunt about it. How intelligent is it to not only to sign up to die, but to kill people who may not pose a threat to you?

Links n' Things:

Tremble Before The Superior Resume of Natural FormsArchitect Eugene Tsui...Kneel Before Zod! How can one guy be a great gymnast and a Kung Fu master and a competitive swimmer...? This guy is scary.
My interview with RU Sirius is up. He's just an incredibly literate guy. That last question, by the way, wasn't meant to be smartass. It's a question I ask myself all of the time.

 

May 1st

 

And more comics geek stuff. A Watchmen movie poster.

Mel Gibson as the Comedian sounds good. I still think that Julian Sands or Christian Bale are more Ozymandius like. Of course, now that Moore seems to care about what happens to his film properties: Ask Terry Gilliam to exec produce a 12 parter for HBO. Let it be so. I'm always thought a Sopranos casting might be cool. Gandolfini as either the Nite Owl or the Comedian...still like Hopper as Rorshack. Ed Harris as Dr. Manhatten seems like an inspired  choice though, but the beautiful Mind guy would be good too, if he would do it...

Here's some nice Steranko art that I copped from that acursed Gravity Lens guy again. Boy, does Paul Gullacy owe this guy royalties for his style or what?

April 20th

Brazilian Jose Carlos Neves is arguably one of the biggest Alan Moore fans on the planet. Just check out this page of insider Alan Moore stuff, that not only features pics of Alan Moore the youth but his new wife, and other really interesting stuff. You will need Babelfish to read the page though...Update: actually this is just a translation that Moore did with Alan Doane some time back. Go forth to google and ye shall find...

--BREAK--

There are some interesting new interviews at Changesurfer. One interview features the author of a new novel called "Nano" that sounds pretty interesting. And in his columns James often extols the virtues of a guaranteed living wage, which would probably be impossible in the US (we'll probably return to legalized slave labor before that happens) and here he interviews a guy in Brazil who's actually pushing that idea. I wonder what it's like to have real opposition parties? Must be cool.

--BREAK--

(new Micah Wright pics are up)

I haven't said anything over at Warblogger Watch for awhile.  I probably should. I've really been busy working and thinking about how to do an online paper and how it can somehow achieve excellence. Real journalism is work, not clippings or the usual stuff of the blogosphere. It's going out and doing real reporting. I'm trying to figure out how I can do that and work full time at the same time. When I worked as a journalist I put every bit of time I had into it. I might not be able to do it. But its probably worth a try.

As for the war, it's kind of surreal in a sad and finite way. I question the Iraqis who don't pick up a gun. What are they waiting for? That same good treatment that Latin Americans have come to expect all these years?

--BREAK--

I was reading American Samizdat and I found this really good rant against the war. And while I was reading it I hit upon this story about how a Scottish firm had finally figured out terminator style like armies. If I recall my Star Wars mythology, didn't droids make lousy soldiers? Of course, Star Wars admits that in that far away galaxy of theirs AI never exactly took off. On a way-off related note, I'm studying this transhumanism FAQ.

--BREAK--

I've added the Chomsky blog Turning the Tide, for that is the law. And speaking of Chomsky's dead on propaganda model for the American media (dead on I say as someone who's worked for two fairly conservative and republican papers), Ed Hermann provides an update right here.

Here's a new series that I'm really enjoying called Wanted. It's premise is that the villains have taken over. It seems to rip off a number of ideas from Alan Moore's Top Ten, namely cameo backgrounds (I'm pretty sure I've seen Electro, Juggernaut and the Vulture in the backgrounds) and the idea of routine cross dimensional travel.  It also features a kind of new idea of celebrity casting, which would seem to open them up for a lawsuit but who knows. The lead character looks like Eminen. Dr. Selz, seen above, could only be played by short yet powerful producer Danny Devito. Steve Buscemi and Halle Berry play significant roles. Looks like its cast pretty well...

 

 

 

This is a really talented artist by the name of Stephen Youll, again. You can find a gallery of his work here, again.

--BREAK--
(Those red arrows don't look good in Opera soooooo.....)

Well, Air America is on and I'm sorta enjoying it. It's not quite as information packed as Democracy Now, which Jeneane Garofalo just plugged, but it seems to be more interesting and has more of the funny. Al Franken has been  hilarious. First, I think Ted Rall has it right about the format's faults, although he was clearly pissed that he wasn't picked as one of the hosts. One of those faults is too few stations and in liberal bastions no less. Need a few more stations in places like South Carolina and Florida, even though being on the satellite station is a good move. I just think they should concentrate on being a net property. Enough people have broadband to make a difference. I also hope they go the Democracy Now route and start offering visual and MP3 downloads. I still think the best idea is to do music videos (with a wide Netscape Radio/Shoutcast variety...fusion at last he sighed) interspersed with audio MoveOn ads would be the way to go. On all the time. All you need is a database, two turntables and a microphone, two turntables and a microphone...

--BREAK--

Speaking of jazz rock heroes, Allan Holdsworth, my favorite guitarist of all time,  has his own angry website.

The nice thing about this site is that it features a gorgeous Holdsworth solo on the homepage, then a big fat scary chord when you hit enter, then another great Holdsworth solo.

--BREAK--

I don't believe it:: an interesting piece from Tech Central Station. Actually, there's no one more qualified to write about the intersection of transhumanism and comics than I am. I should get right on it.

--BREAK--

New Digital Magazine dedicated to future stuff. Well written.

--BREAK--

Speaking of well-written, my friend Doc Menlo has a new short fictiony, bio-blog going right now. If you like those Warren Ellis short pieces, you'll be very impressed by Doc's poetic audacity. (I had no idea that he tried out to be a writer for David Letterman! Jeez Louise. And these jokes are hilarious...!) Uh, I hope he's kidding about the hari kari though after one year.

Gawd. I gotta try writin' like that...

"I woke up under the refracted geodesic light show in the Martian city of Metropolis. I inserted my tongue upward and turned on the nodule and my right eye blinked off and then back on, and then I whispered "frame" and it was like standing inside the old 3D Viewsonic Tablets. Then I surfed. I'm an info addict and I'm proud of it. I've even rewired my central cortex so that a good blog entry feels like the skin of one of those hot transgendered Bengal tigers (Meow)...Usually, I'd be more interested in the Bjork clone sex show or the reviews of my performance in last night's Monty Python play (I play Cleese in the Argument Sketch because I'm tall and have a British last name despite being the descendant of American slaves) but today was a very different day. For today in 2018, back on Earth, or what we on the Martian Direct Democracy call the "Plutocracy adorned with the Friendly Fascist Smile", where it turns out that Christian fundies armed with nuclear weapons and Islamic fundies armed likewise are about to have their final True Believer-like conversation. In the pool, I'm betting for plumes of smoke to swirl from Calcutta, New York, and an unnamed city in Southeast. It will be a great light show and the end of fantasy ideologies. I'd thank god if I actually believed in one...Now we can evolve in peace. I shall grow a rhino horn, and shimmering butterfly wings and I shall be beautiful..."

Ah. Maybe not....

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the great Mike Kaluta. Check out Starstruck if you ever get a chance.

 

 

Here's an unfortunately true Business Week Piece that details the decline in American science fortunes. It misses the big point, however, about our current administration's anti science positions. Here is the best link about that.

Dean has a new project and it's pretty cool. God knows the Democrats need the money.

 

March 11

This is one of Syd Mead's drawings (tip of the hat to Gravity Lens again as I gnash my teeth...) Mead, if I recall correctly, is the visionary behind the look of Bladerunner. Of course, now that looks less futuristic in light of big screen teevees. I wonder how they can afford it with their Wal Mart jobs...?

 

 

 

 

This is one of Syd Mead's drawings (tip of the hat to Gravity Lens again as I gnash my teeth...) Mead, if I recall correctly, is the visionary behind the look of Bladerunner. Of course, now that looks less futuristic in light of big screen teevees. I wonder how they can afford it with their Wal Mart jobs...?

 

I was watching something on the Discovery channel about people who were radically modifying their bodies--by way of full body tatoos, surgical mods and whiskers of all things-- and I was thinking how tame this was in light of the coming Ribofunk revolution. Then, over at Die Puny Humans, I found this link to what  could only be called a whole page of Ribofunkers.. Here's a nice pic of a cactus with human hair. MMMMM nice.

 Here's how you can do it  at home kids. Oh, I'm sure it's not, you know, DANGEROUS! And in an apparent reference to Harlan Ellison's great story "How's the Night Life on Cissalda?", here's a group of folks who are building some kind of organic thingy (What is Love Lump? I swear that sounds like a Rudy Rucker sex toy...)} that you can apply to your private bits...or could be added to the Real Doll, in case you ever wanted to have sex with one of those.

 

James Hughes also has a superior essay about not only this new NBIC group but a fairly comprehensive broadside against Bush science policies.

 

 

 

This is a really talented artist by the name of Stephen Youll. You can find a gallery of his work here. He did the cover for an interesting graphic novel space opera prequel called Saga of the Seven Suns. O tall genetically altered and/or alien ebony assassin...you are beautiful...

 

March 5th

 James Hughes, the heart of Cyborg Democracy, has blogged a heckuva whole lot about not only the Kass commission, here and here, but also something very interesting called the NBIC conference. It stands for Nan, Bio, Info and Cogno and how these technologies will converge. There's even a legal group that's looking into these issues. Apparently transhumanism, as well as Eric Drexler, is getting the bad rap these days. I think it's because, and this was noted in a recent Better Humans forum, that the logical conclusion to assemblers and new power sources means not only a rethinking of capitalism, but in all probability it's end. I could see where investors wouldn't find that attractive...

While I was looking at those stories I also discovered two cool sites that I'll be looking at more closely in the future: Biotech Today, which features audio interviews with some of the NBIC panelists, and Wi Fi Networking News. I'm going to add both to the links.

On a related broadband note, it looks like broadband over powerlines not only works, but works really well. I've been linking to stories about this for the last several years. It's cool to see that one of these science fictional things I often breathlessly report about here can actually work.  I say bring it on, right after the election. Thank God the republicans were too stupid to realize that if they had regulated broadband in exactly the same way they regulated dialup they would have created another boom. Too late now.

 

 

This is a really talented artist by the name of Stephen Youll. You can find a gallery of his work here. He did the cover for an interesting graphic novel space opera prequel called Saga of the Seven Suns.

And on a related note, my new Better Humans column is up. I make A Left Argument for Space, again. New worlds, new constitutions folks.

I mention the Mirror Mirror Star Trek episode because I think this is where the United States is heading. I already have a goatee so I'll have to wait until my sash arrives in the mail...

Week of February 15

Dean has withdrawn, but I certainly hope that he's not out. As I stated before, Dean has a second act. I actually imagine that he will use his incredible fundraising prowess to help congressional candidates. Money might not have helped Dean in a national campaign, but it could certainly go a long way toward helping Dems capture house seats. I know internet fundraising certainly helped Ben Chandler in Kentucky. I guess an overall strategy would be to attack up to 30 seats currently being held by the GOP and defend up to 20 or 30 Dem seats that need to be defended. Or he could take up my offer and attempt to build up a new media, since Soros hasn't cut me a check yet...

In other words, as Ralph Nader attempts to become a politician, Dean can transform himself into a civic crusader. Sounds fair to me.

Who's left? I would take either Edwards or Kerry over Bush but I think that Edwards has less baggage. I also think that Edwards has a more consistent left message even though he voted for the war. I'll have to take a closer look at their proposals. Both of them are cleaning Bush's clock by about 10 points and I don't think this is soft Dean support. People know the Bush record. They know why they're not voting for the shrub.  Of course, this means nothing if the Dems can't retake one or both chambers of congress. This is why Dean is still important and why he can still help the party.

Here's a quiz for you Gene Expression types: which of these high school kids should be encouraged not to take upper level math and science courses based on their ethnic differences? The answer is probably nobody, at least not on the basis of superficial racial differences. According to this San Jose Mercury article, everybody in this picture is related genetically to a single Asian ancestor. It's not that I don't think there are genetic differences, I just don't think that racial differences easily translate into genetic differences, especially here in the USA, a proud society of mutts and mongrels. Now, you can make an argument that there are significant individual differences based upon individual genetic reads, but across races? That seems silly and wasteful, about as scientific as using hat color as a marker...Afterall, these are all talented, high achieving Asian kids, even the black kid with corn rows...

From Better Humans:

Cloning Marches Forward...in South Korea. (NY Times) And in related news: Scientists claim that Bush administration misuses science for political goals. Really? Goodness. Chris Mooney has more on this from the Union of Concerned Scientists.
Interesting Debate Between Zubrin and Park About Manned Space Exploration

Reactor Makes Hydrogen in Your Hand

Better Humans is becoming one of the best Pop Sci sites out there and I'm not just saying that because I write for them...

Meanwhile, at Boing Boing:

Profile of a Book About Mind and Matter (Salon)
Cory Doctorow Speech on Authors and Copyright
Modern Cointelpro (Also from Salon)

February 8

Ahhhh, Moebius.

My stomping grounds at Better Humans have gotten a  redesign and facelift. They're also getting a forums section. On the other hand, I disagree with the recent anti-space columns that I've seen both here and here, and even Cyborg Democracy Writer Charlie Stross takes a shot against exploration here, with an almost we're awful rotten humans and we deserve to die off kind of attitude. Charlie, brother, where's your species self-love man? I must write a dissenting opinion, where I will add some notes to this...

I might note that none of these guys are American. James Hughes, a very American guy, seems to support exploration with reservations. Frankly, given our corrupt politics and imperialistic wars, I certainly wouldn't be too thrilled with American exploration, either. It looks like we're not only going to explore space, but we're going to actively prevent others from doing so, which is evil, which is par for the course lately. I'm about as thrilled about space exploration under this corrupt republican administration as I am about the Chinese space program, which is to say, not much. In fact, I'd be tempted to become this crazy guy...

cuz' it's agin' de lawd I tellya...Jodie Foster won't see me until it's wayyyy too late...

 

And it's back to Enki Bilal. Hey, art theft is  hard.

Speaking of stiff monsters, John Kerry looks like he will be the nominee of the Democratic Party. I can't figure out Dean's high negatives. Even now, Dean is out raising Kerry. That's unreal to me. Kerry will have hand in hat begging the same guys that got rich off of the Republicans. Amazing. Perhaps Bush hatred is so deep that Kerry will just roll. I guess the reason I supported Dean so enthusiastically is that, one, he dragged the party to the right position of being against the war and two, Dean offers a way for us to not only win the presidency but the US Congress. On the other hand, Dean hasn't done a very good job of using his money to actually win contests. Meetups, as impressive as they are, aren't translating into votes. Who knows. Perhaps war veterans are more dependable than cyber kids. Dean has to win something by Super Tuesday and he has to completely retool his video ads.

You know, the one thing about Dean is that unlike most presidential candidates, he's got a second act. It would be interesting if he turned his fundraising into something that would unseat Bush.  I was thinking along the lines of paying for ads in battleground states, as well as competitive House and Senate seats. I also have a nutty idea about helping the Greens in certain areas...Perhaps I'll post something over at Daily Kos. I can diary with the best of them...

I hope he's not too proud to take a VP spot...

Welp, Cory Doctorow has published a second novel and he's putting it out on the net fer free. That's right, free. That takes guts, again.

Both Tacitus and Phil Carter are the only two conservatives that I admire in this entire war debate in that they actually seem to, well, think. Carter has several interesting posts up. One, he comes down on the side of Larry Flynt on a case involving embedded reporting. He makes the case that Americans sort of have a right to know what's happening in wars that affect them, or kill them, if you're a part of the economic draft. Carter also lays out how you can track down where Bush was during his alleged yet highly probable AWOL Year. Tax records never lie it seems...

Week of January 25

You can now get a Greg Palast spoken word CD. It's about time I say.

Speaking of Democrats who lie down with Republicans, I see that Kerry defeated my fave presidential pick Howard Dean, again. I hear that Dean fired Joe Trippi today. I'm amazed that Democrats think Kerry is the guy. He voted for the tax cuts and the war and now he's telling me that he's going to fight the special interests? Oh please. Don't get me wrong, I'd vote for a stick of wood over Bush, but why would you nominate a guy who can't attack Bush on the Big Issues of the day. Now, this is usually where I go over to Oliver Willis' blog and remind people why they vote for Ralph Nader. Sigh, again. Dean still has a chance.

Jan. 30

Update: It looks like Dean has squandered his money, but everyone else is broke as well.  He still has a chance. Also, over at Cyberdemocracy, I make the point that Dean is probably not a tool of Trusted Computing no matter what Charlie Stross thinks.

Interesting Piece About War Profiteering
Jeff Chester Rebuts Wall St. Journal About the Center for Digital Democracy and Its Relationship to George Soros. Here's an excert:

"Second, the "crushing regulations" that we are accused of seeking to impose on the new broadband networks are nothing more than the same level playing field that has long governed the dial-up Internet--where open access and nondiscriminatory transport are ensured--which has been a boon rather than a hindrance to competition online."

Naomi Klein Describes the Iraqi Appointocracy

Week of January 18th

 

 

Stolen from Gravity Lens Blog yet again. Curse you Gravity Lens for your superior pop culture links. The artist is named Enki Bilal.

Jan. 22. 2004

Well, I sure hope this poll that shows Kerry with a ten point lead over Dean was just home state spin. They're more optimistic over at my favorite Howard Dean blog.
Ted Rall Sez French kids hate us. And, oh, they get more critical coverage of the war than we do. Really? How shocking.

Jan. 20, 2004

Dean Fallout

 Obviously, I'm not too thrilled with Monday's results. Dean still has the money and clout to make a go of it (40 million goes a long way), but if he wins with a bloodbath where they cut each other's throats along the way, well, that's a loss as well.  I also like Wesley Clark even though he isn't much of a, you know, Democratic Party member. Wesley also talks about his proud vote for Reagan, who attempted to cut my college aid every single year he was in office. Sigh.

 I think Dana over at the Howard Dean blog has more to say about the viability factor, here and here. Lotsa stuff over at the Daily Kos, with some very tough medicine here and here.

In other news:

This movie looks like it's very very important. Its subject matter is horrific, or rather it documents our time's truly big story, that the so-called "librul" media, which won't even take our Super Bowl ad money let alone our ideology, of how private power has corrupted everything. Here's a review. Their links page is especially good. I didn't know the Multinational Monitor links were so extensive.

In fact, from those MM links, try out Oligopoly Watch, where we learn all about how "slotting" practices determine the politics behind the California supermarket strike.

 

 

 

 

New Micah Wright pics are up. Get 'em while they're hot.

Bad week for the Bush Administration and oh how I weep.  I think the best summary is over at the revitalized American Samizdat, where this Benedict guy has been bloggin' up a storm. I think it reminds me of this particular Deep Space Nine episode, but that's just me. I always knew that Tain was involved in the Bush White House. It was so obvious.

Here's a newer and betterer pic of the red planet. You know, to you, it just looks like a buncha rocks. But I see direct democracy, absolute civil liberties, and the nan driven economy. It's all a matter of perspective.

Two quick stories on alt fuels and how Bush doesn't really support it, here and here.

Four way chess. How would Deep Blue do here?

 

I thought that I'd post this Steranko cover. Again, I think this is fair use ville, especially since I usually drool over any artists I post and their complete and obvious genius. Steranko, as I drool, is a complete and obvious genius.

And here's the real thing. I'm real psyched about these Mars rover photos. A nice photo of a giant footprint or the Monolith would be cooler, but, still, this is pretty swell.

Meanwhile, my favorite neo-eugenicist Godless Capitalist has gone on record that he will not endorse Dean. I'm sure the Dean campaign weeps. For the record, his reasons are beyond silly, even for him. Better stick to cowardly anonymous fringe science. I'm hoping that Scientists for Dean has taken note.

I've also posted my first post at Cyborg Democracy and I'm on a rampage over at Warblogger Watch, especially now that it seems that Dean has a fighting chance. He's only down by five points.

 

Week of December 24th

 

 

New Year's Eve

I suppose it's no secret that I've been working on starting an online newspaper here in Pittsburgh. I've already bought the domain and I'm furiously thinking about how much and what kind of content I can put into it while still doing part time gigs that kinda pay my rent.

Unfortunately, I'm not alone. There are a number of other publications that are making an effort out there.  Pittpunk seems especially immature, yet it's run by the "young people" so I expect it to be very very successful.  There's also this paper called the Western PA Public Record, which apparently has a counterpart in Philly. They have a print version. That's how I heard of them. I'm really not sure what they're about in terms of content. It sounds like they're labor friendly. I interpret that to mean that they will occasionally write about labor without contempt. I'll have to check them out more. There are no bylines, I wonder who does all of the writing? Their website is awful. And then there's Trade River. Trade River is partially run by Lisa Stolarski, who at times is very intelligent. I had a debate with her about Dean vs. Kucinich over at American Samizdat. 

Now, during that debate, I called Lisa an ignorant slut, which was a joke, an old SNL joke actually. She didn't watch TV when she was growing up. (Responsible parents: the bane of any decent pop culture IQ.) So, she threatened to sue me, like several times. She also threatened to sue Doc Menlo, at his job. Not a good move. Her invitation to join American Samizdat was withdrawn. Her lawyer informed her, politely, that she was nutz. We haven't spoken since. On the plus side, Trade River has moved farther along than my publication.  She has a city grant, apparently. I still don't understand the business model but let's see what develops. Yet in the comments section, there was a person who accused Lisa, of guess what, threatening to sue them. Those comments were wiped out.

So there you have it. The state of the art of Pittsburgh alternative online press. I look forward to making fun of them all.

In other news, in my vigilante role as an off the books operative (They call me Agent Dan, Steelydan) Dean Defense Forces member, I got Scientists for Dean to pull their Gene Expression link from their blog, again. I kinda thought that it was a no-brainer for just a ton of obvious reasons. As a side note, you might notice that Razib and Godless could probably spot me a good 60 points collectively on IQ and I still kicked their asses, which tells you everything you need to know about the significance of IQ...

Dec. 24th

The trailer for I Robot is up and it looks pretty impressive. You can even pick out materials and skin, kinda like building a Dell computer. More later after I've digested this holiday eggnog, but a few short messages. I truly believe that Dean is quite optimistic and Godless concedes the game and his flip flop endorsement record over at Scientists for Dean, but he's destroying the field over at Big Media Matt's. I'm debating on whether to enter the fray, again. Probably not.

 

 

I'm actually looking forward to Saddam's trial. I hope he goes into vivid detail about his long alliance with the United States. Of course, the usual lot of White House weasels, will do everything in their power to limit the scope of the trial. Over at Warblogger Watch, where I've been unusually busy, I've made the argument that capturing Saddam will do nothing to lessen the insurgency and in fact makes it more valid. Afterall, you can't argue it's all Saddam's fault, especially since he didn't seem to have much of a communications means in his Spider Hole. Here's a thrilling excerpt:

"By the way, if you're playing the Imperialism 2003 Home Game, here's how you decide whether you should or should not take up arms against the occupation government. Do you have a right to vote? Do you have any say over the mechanisms of the vote, such as census taking and the writing of the constitution, which will determine what kind of "democracy" you will end up with? Does the occupying country have a long bloody history of supporting dictators and killers and thugs at the expense of democratic institutions and to the favor of the United Fruits and Halliburtons of this world? Are Iraqi companies allowed in the bidding process? Is it clear that the occupier is resorting to death squads, a tactic that was very successful in El Salvador at wiping out all meaningful democratic opposition? Does the occupation use nonlethals or do they shoot anything that moves? Has the occupation set up its exit strategy as part of its reelection strategy or are they clearly concerned about "democracy"? Does the occupation respect any aspect of international law or the rule of law period?

Now, if you find that the US is on the wrong side of most of those questions, you should have an understanding as to why the resistance fights. Let's see what happens in the next several weeks. As always, we'll be watching."

In related news, Mike Moore has more to say about our former associate Saddam. In related related news Mike links to this fact-chocked LA Weekly piece about US business ties to Saddam.

New Get Your War on pieces up about fuckin' John Kerry. I'm thinking about doing cartoons like this at Warblogger Watch.

I'm also pushin' my "Create Your Own Consensual Media Online" meme over at an indy Howard Dean site. 100s more sites to go. There's also something called Scientists for Dean. I kinda wish the Dean campaign wouldn't acknowledge it until they explain the Gene Expression link. I don't think that the Murray thesis that blacks and other minorities are genetically inferior, and we can prove it thanks to science, looks good on a Dean campaign sticker.

Soros, my fave billionaire, is also an atheist. What's not to love?
Space War between the EU and China?
Long Piece About the Privatization of the Internet
Long Piece About the Dangers of Bioweapons

 

Astro City, one of the better Post-Watchmen superhero comics, is getting the possible movie treatment. I still wish somebody would take a series like this to HBO. Alex Ross did this cover by the way.

I'm still of the strong belief that Tom Moody has the most underrated blog on the net. It's always thought provoking. Check out his animated gifs.

I wrote a nice open letter to George Soros in a column for Better Humans, where I return after taking a many many month sabbatical. (I had to make a living.) I make the argument that he needs to do prescisely what he did in Georgia when he over-, uh, "influenced" change in the Soviet Republic of Geogia. In Georgia, Soros started his own FOX news called 24 hours.  My short version is that he should start an Internet only news portal in 17 battleground states. Recreate a 24 Hours for the states. Or as I phrased it:

"So, my scheme is this: Use the business plan I've outlined above and put staff in 15 to 17 of the battleground states. These are states such as Louisiana, Pennsylvania, Missouri and Arkansas. Think of this as the logical extension to what you're already doing with America Coming Together. You could have them up and running in several months. All it takes is money. This won't be an unlimited amount of money, I might add. In fact, the goal of these publications is to become financially self-sufficient. I think that's very possible. At $1 million per state publication (and a good penny pincher could lower those costs), you're looking at an investment of $17 million. And if you're serious about beating Bush then you're looking at an investment of $100 million. I would use the remaining $83 million on countering Bush ad buys in the battleground states, but that's just me and my imaginary $100 million."

I came up with a budget here, by the way. I had been thinking about it for awhile when during a discussion with Ted Rall over at the Comics Journal message board he challenged me to come up with a budget. I think it's stripped down. My goal is to get the best reporters who aren't allowed to pursue the biggest story in the United States. How private power has pretty much corrupted everything. I even name potential hires. People who no longer work for our Pravda like corporate press.  I really think this has to be done now and on the relatively free Internet.

Speaking of the power of the Internet, MoveOn has started it's own anti-Bush ads. The newest one, which ends with the statement "Santa Claus doesn't live in the North Pole, but at the White House", is quite a gem. These new 527s could actually help the democrats. Predictably, horrified by the prospect of a fair fight, the Republicans might be working to undermine the 527s, according to this great piece by The Daily Kos.

Must you know everything that's going to happen in the next Star Wars film? Then check out this list of plot lines and spoilers.

 

First Week of December

 

 

Local Pittsburgh Philadelphia artist Todd Marrone  is shown above.  His work reminds me a lot of late artist Keith Haring, who died of AIDS. Update: Reminds me a little of Picasso as well. Marrone also lists Haring as an influence in his links page.

Cinnamon Balances Blood Sugar Levels? (from Doc Menlo) Both my dad and my uncle died from Diabetes. Sounds like this a regimen I should be trying...Then again, if everything that New Scientist reported was remotely true I'd have a jetback by now....

December 5th

 

Here's a Keith Haring pic by the way. You can check out his site here.

 

 

The University of Pittsburgh says it has promising results towards a SARS  vaccine. Related news: US not ready for SARS epidemic.
Two interesting stories from Wired: A surprisingly good review of the new Battlestar Galactica series and Lawrence Lessig in praise of socialist networks. (Actually, now that I think about it, it's more in praise of publicly owned broadband, even though there does seem to be competition between duopoly broadband these days...)

Bill Moyers on media concentration.
How Soros overthrew the government of Georgia.

New MIT Technology Review (the other smaller tech review) has a blog now. I have instantaneously permalinked it.

 

IN case you missed it, the media war for the next presidential election has already begun. MoveOn has already started their opposition ads and they claim they were able to reduce Bush's popularity by 4 points in one state. They've got $2 million to work with and a lot more from Soros if it gets rough.

But the MoveOn ads are tame compared to this online Kucinich ad. I don't think Dennis can win (still). I just think he lacks charisma and presence. But this ad definitely rocks. I kinda wish that MoveOn was using this ad. By the way, when the ad lists the evil corporations who are benefitting from this war it mentions something called the "Menlo World" something or other corporation...Doc, any explanation for this?

I posted this over at American Samizdat.

 

 

 

Week of November 23rd

 

I think Alex Ross' greatest ability is how he conveys emotion. You can also find a number of wallpapers and posters here. I was reminded by his talent from the Uncle Sam picture from below.

Glow in the Dark Fish. I think the really interesting thing about this story is how it grew out of a completely valid scientific exploration, and evolved into something entertaining. It doesn't seem dangerous.

After begging and groveling, I was finally added to Cyborg Democracy. Now I have to post something. Here's James Hughes on the glowing fish controversy by the way. Lots of good links over there.

Here's a  site devoted to the Bush draft stories. Over at rad libertarian Lew Rockwell's site, I even found a Tom Delay House Republican who thinks conscription is a bad idea.

"But when it comes to war, the principle of deception lives on. The plan for “universal liability to serve” once again is raising its ugly head. The dollar cost of the current war is already staggering, yet plans are being made to drastically expand the human cost by forcing conscription on the young men (and maybe women) who have no ax to grind with the Iraqi people and want no part of this fight.

Hundreds of Americans have already been killed, and thousands more wounded and crippled, while thousands of others will experience new and deadly war-related illnesses not yet identified"

Read the whole thing as they say.

Howard Dean continues to amaze me. Bush ran his first predictably evil "They Hate Me, Thus They Hate America" ad and Dean put up a challenge of 300,000, which, as of right now they've doubled. No Big Phama, no Halliburton, just angry folks giving on the net. Stunning. That has never happened before. Usually, the Big Money guys give Bush all the money, his dem rival about half, or none if the Delay lobbying machine gets its way and there's your Tyson/middleweight fight and oh what a shock the Republicans win again. That seemed fair. Not anymore. That ends.

Here's more about the potential of government officials  to censor  academics. It sounds like if we don't like this particular professor we're going to cut your funding. That's nice. How democratic. Juan Cole and Noam Chomsky beware.

 

 

 

 

 

Have I posted anything from Steranko? Not lately.

I might note that while I enjoy fictionalized accounts of war, the real thing isn't quite as well-designed as a Steranko cover. Here's Riverbend commenting on this terrible idea we have of emulating the Israelis. We're not only violent, we're stupid. Even the conservative warblogger Tacitus says this idea is bad...I still think Riverbend has the best perspective, (unfortunately) however:

"The troops were pushing women and children shivering with fear out the door in the middle of the night. What do you think these children think to themselves- being dragged out of their homes, having their possessions and houses damaged and burned?! Who do you think is creating the 'terrorists'?!! Do you think these kids think to themselves, "Oh well- we learned our lesson. That's that. Yay troops!" It's like a vicious, moronic circle and people are outraged."

In a related note, here's the legendary Alex Ross doing his version of Uncle Sam.

Week of November 9th

And here's a little bit of Kirby.

 Sorry for the slow posting but I've been downed by the Flu.  And back to politics.

I found that pic at the site www.oldamericancentury.org

By the way, I'm glad George Soros said these things. I don't think a non-Jewish Holocaust survivor could state those things without being called anti-semitic or self hating. I'm wrong about that by the way. Go ahead check out the usual suspects over in the ashamed links. People have called him that. Remember: He's an incredibly successful capitalist as well.  And he's just saying what a lot of us have thought of,  if it walks like fascism, talks like fascism...
Those peacenik Stalineseque Hate America First appeasers at the CIA think the resistance is popular with the Iraqi public, no matter what Instapundit blogs.

Here are two must reads about the Iraqi Governing Council from Juan Cole and Riverbend.  On the by and by, in the Why We Hate Glenn department, Riverbend has been writing stuff like this for months now about that  puppet council. Until a few days ago, Glenn has only saw fit to link to those bloggers who reflect this wildly false view that Iraqis love appointed governments and only terrorists would have an objection to that, as opposed to true nationalists who might want a real democracy. Of course, now that the RNC talking points have changed, guess what: those council guys are bums. Incredible. How do propagandists even keep up with the President's lies and dissembling. Here's a portion of Riverbend:

"Of course they're outside of the country- many of them don't have ties in it. They have to visit their families and businesses in Europe and North America. For some of them, it sometimes seems like the "Governing Council" is something of an interesting hobby- a nice little diversion in the monthly routine: golf on Saturdays, a movie with the family in London on Fridays, a massage at the spa on Tuesdays, and, oh yes- nation-building for 5 minutes with Bremer on the Xth of each month.

People here never see them. Most live in guarded compounds and one never knows what country they are currently in. For example, Chalabi is presently missing. I haven't seen him on the news for…
I don't know how long. If anyone has seen him, please send an email- I'm dying to know what he's up to.

I can imagine Bremer preparing for a meeting with the pioneers of Iraqi democracy, the pillars of liberty… the Iraqi Puppet Council. He strides in with his chic suit, flowing hair and polished shoes (the yellow nation-building boots are only for press conferences and photo shoots in Iraqi provinces). He is all anticipation and eagerness: today will be the day. *This* meeting will be the productive meeting which will make headlines"

And now some science links. There's now a Changesurfer invitation only blog that I wasn't invited to and I'm deeply bitter about it. It includes my Better Humans colleague James Hughes and science fiction heavyweight Ken McLeod. Bitter and jealous. I'm gonna go beg and grovel by email right now...

It's called Cyborg Democracy.

If you're looking for science tv online, then check out these Sage TV clips (long definition: center right types who don't mind extending their lifetimes. Chris Mooney writes for them. I probably won't since my good pal Virginia Postrel sits on the editorial board). There's a couple hours worth.

November 2, 2003

 The artist is P. Craig Russell. His Dr. Strange annual is one of the most beautiful things that I've ever seen. And whadayaknow, here's a tribute site, where I found this:

 

Got this from the invaluable Gravity Lens Guy. It was a link to this Dr. Strange site. The artist is P. Craig Russell. His Dr. Strange annual is one of the most beautiful things that I've ever seen. And whadayaknow, here's a tribute site, where I found this:

Week of October 26

 

When avatars become commonplace on the immersive Metaverse-like net, then I shall be Adam Warlock, copyrights notwithstanding. I probably won't be able to afford it.

Speaking of Jim Starlin, he's also doing a cool flash comic called Kid Cosmos.

October 31:

Microsoft rumored to be taking over Google. Adam Warlock reacts:

Update: Microsoft apparently "spurned". But with their 40 billion in cash they could always do a hostile takeover when Google goes public next year...

Thursday's Democracy Now features must listen and must watch info on Diebold vote machine scandal. (Always thought it was odd that Max Cleland lost in Georgia, as well as Wellstone...then look at voter machine discrepancies...), union busting in Iraq and other  great stories. More proof Republicans are evil: They won't back a bill that calls for paper trails. It's not expensive. What could be the reason for this. Scary stuff, just in time for Halloween.

Interesting Piece About the Patriot Act.

October 30th
Nice Pro Dean/Democrats fer' science piece by my Better Humans colleague James Hughes.

The links have been light around here because I'm working on building an online progressive paper for the City of Pittsburgh. That will be the third site that I've constructed. I will, hopefully, be very busy. I probably won't get rich, but it could be self sustaining.

Here's a long PDF about our many many lies about Iraq.

Week of October 19th

The new Matrix film is coming.

 

 

 

 

 

The new Matrix film is coming. The above is drawn by John Van Fleet. 

Oct. 22

Meet my new guitar god girlfriend: Kaki King. I had thought the best technical female guitarist that I had seen was Joe Pass protege Mimi Fox. (Check out the first tune.) But here's a gal, 23 I think, who's been studying the tapping techniques of Mike Hedges and Stanley Jordan. (Here's a picture of a recent duet with SJ in Seattle)  Impressive. I had never heard or her, but I was watching a rerun of Conan O Brien and I caught the end of it. Check out her video and these tunes here. It's a flash site so you have to click on Kaki's name and then audio/video. It's well worth the effort.  She's also a beautiful composer. Kaki, my wife to be, also has a degree in composition and boy does it show. I was most blown away by Close Your Eyes. I also found out that she was influenced by another prodigy player named Preston Reed. I can hear the influence.

Neofiles, from Technoccult, Seems To Be A Supplement Enhancing Site. It's written by RU Sirius, who I've liked ever since Mondo 2000.
Depressing Juan Cole piece about congressional fundies who want to influence Iraq's constitution in just the worst way imaginable.  Related piece: Human Rights watch reports that US soldiers have murdered an estimated 100 Iraqi civilians.  Also related: A number of soldiers have taken a Bush-style leave of absence. How fitting.

 

Week of October 12th

October 16

Riverbend has a new post up and she's wondering why no one is bothered by the Shadow Government. She also links to a Brit guy who's also blogging from Iraq. His name is Justin Alexander and he's working for Iraqi debt relief. Check out his well-reported piece on how Iraqis feel about debt relief and reparations.

New Wired is out. Here's a big profile of Linus. And here's a cool story about how Open Source is changing the nature of business. More info on the BBC giving away it's massive archives for free, and perhaps even using P2P in the process. Do they have Hendrix and Pixies at the BBC on videotape? I know there's a BBC recording of the Mahavishnu Orchestra...Also: Gregory Stock talks about how human growth hormone is the start of human enhancement. Soon: I'll have my genetically grown kevlar Bat Wings and then I Shall Fight Crime.

Ted Rall gets a blog and an almost instantaneous hate site to go along with it, which of course insults Ted Rall and doesn't address his well researched arguments. He should get a moderated comments sections though, unless he wants to resemble the Dark One himself.

 

October 16

Riverbend has a new post up and she's wondering why no one is bothered by the Shadow Government. She also links to a Brit guy who's also blogging from Iraq. His name is Justin Alexander and he's working for Iraqi debt relief. Check out his well-reported piece on how Iraqis feel about debt relief and reparations.

New Wired is out. Here's a big profile of Linus. And here's a cool story about how Open Source is changing the nature of business. More info on the BBC giving away it's massive archives for free, and perhaps even using P2P in the process. Do they have Hendrix and Pixies at the BBC on videotape? I know there's a BBC recording of the Mahavishnu Orchestra...Also: Gregory Stock talks about how human growth hormone is the start of human enhancement. Soon: I'll have my genetically grown kevlar Bat Wings and then I Shall Fight Crime.

Ted Rall gets a blog and an almost instantaneous hate site to go along with it, which of course insults Ted Rall and doesn't address his well researched arguments. He should get a moderated comments sections though, unless he wants to resemble the Dark One himself.
Reason 43 as to why Republicans don't do well with minority voters.

October 14th

  They're doing an Electra tribute over at the virtual online comics museum Words and Pictures. One of the best graphic novels of all time, it features the art of Bill Sienkiewicz, who used to draw a lot like Neal Adams (check out the animation at his homepage) and who now draws a lot like Barron Storey.
Stunningly Funny Batman/Plamegate Toon by Tom Tomorrow

Funny In Depth Critique of Poser by Den Beste. Take his political pieces, please.
Yet Another Kurt Nimmo Address Move

Other Ways to Spend 87 billion dollars, no. 423: Healthcare for Soldiers
Nutraceuticals Piece at Futurepundit. I'm trying to get the Brothers Judd to go on record that they won't take the smart pills because its agin' st gawd n' such but no such luck. Here's another take.
Gamma ray weapons arms race? This is a report from the Union of Concerned Scientists..
Also from the Union: A nice blueprint on how to make SUVs more efficient. (Even includes a video! This is the future of left television...)
Why Bernie Sanders Will Vote Against the 87 B

 

 

 

 

Stunningly sad story about one of the greatest comics artists who ever lived: Jeffrey Jones. He got sick and lost everything (someone should take a look at our health care system and how it kills artists. I still think Effinger would still be walking around if we had nationalized health care even though I have heard he didn't take good care of himself...)and, worse, he's not well enough to draw anymore. Horrific. Please get well Jeff. He's definitely in the Frazetta class. He's a great artist who just happens to do comics. Update One: We're holding a very small Jeff Jones tribute over at Tom Moody's website. Tom, who is a professional art critic--the most intimidating writers on Earth--thinks Jeff doesn't draw feets very well. Picky guy. Update Two: Jeff apparently was trying to turn himself into a girl, at 58. I'm sympathetic, yet weirded out.

October 11

Here's an argument that I had made over at Gene Expression, back when I was allowed to post there. That argument was that essentially we're a nation of mutts and mongrels. That's where the Bell Curve's math really gets screwed up. And Lo and Behold, check out this Alternet story where someone who thought he was black, kind of turned out to not be black. He took the very sfnal test offered by the Florida-based DNA print genomics and discovered:

"Wayne Joseph can't, either. But when the results of his DNA test came back, he found himself staggered by the idea that though he still qualified as a person of color, it was not the color he was raised to think he was, one with a distinct culture and definitive place in the American struggle for social equality that he'd taken for granted. Here was the unexpected and rather unwelcome truth: Joseph was 57 percent Indo-European, 39 percent Native American, 4 percent East Asian – and zero percent African. After a lifetime of assuming blackness, he was now being told that he lacked even a single drop of black blood to qualify."

Both Hesiod and Atrios have been on a roll as of late. Read the last few day's worth.

Now, here's a job in journalism that I lust for: The Science beat at the Village Voice. Erik Baard has been writing just a bunch of great tech stories for the Voice.

"I came out of Caltech, which runs the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, and my father spent his life at JPL. A lot of my attitude comes from that experience—seeing all of their cloak and dagger stuff going on there," Potter says. "Like one thing my dad worked on was side-looking radar. At the time they said, 'We're going to use this to map Venus,' which they did. And now it's used to steer cruise missiles."

And how exactly might Potter's own work be used in a weapons system? "I don't want to answer that question—and discourage you from trying to guess because that is helping the enemy, in my opinion," he fumes. "I will hold you personally responsible for the consequences if you do.

Oh, heck. I'll step into the irresponsible breach, mainly because the military has already thought of it, probably.  In the story, Potter has created something called a hydrot, or a bot where neurons are attached directly to chips and apparently are growing. How could the military use this? You could create AIs with soul. And what does that mean? You could give machines rudimentary common sense, something they don't have now, a sense of self and even a survival mechanism.  It would mind being killed. I would think that any decent terminator or sexbot (Both? Winona bot slave what are you doing with that kitchen knife..?) would want these kinds of essentials. Bhahahaha, please note the Joker pic  below.  I'll keep my nanbot mind control schemes to myself...

I'm adding black box voting to my permalinks, because it's kind of important. And what kind of evil party wouldn't want a paper record of how votes are counted? Oh, the GOP. Of course. Here's a paranoid tale of how those GOP sponsored Diebold machines were acting funny in the recall elections. Definitely, the scariest political meme I've ever run into....

October 9th

The guy behind the great Gravity Lens blog has come up with these cool spoof motivational posters. The above is from the Alan Moore/Brian Bolland "Killing Joke" comic. And below, one of my favorite Watchmen, to be played by Dennis Hopper in my fake rumored HBO miniseries:

Chris Mooney, who I'm adding to the blogroll, has a number of good posts. He fesses up that he's found a scientific study that says GM foods can be harmful. He also takes the Daily Kos pro vengeance position on the recall issue. (I lean this way myself, otherwise you reward the GOP for their unprincipled ruthlessness, yet again.)
I wrote my big piece on what to do on Iraq a while back. Sounds about right.
Howard over at Nanodot is also on a roll. Try this post and this one.
I've also finally updated Majic 12 at long last, where I placed some of my Technoccult posts.

Stunningly sad story about one of the greatest comics artists who ever lived: Jeffrey Jones. He got sick and lost everything (someone should take a look at our health care system and how it kills artists. I still think Effinger would still be walking around if we had nationalized health care even though I have heard he didn't take good care of himself...)and, worse, he's not well enough to draw anymore. Horrific. Please get well Jeff. He's definitely in the Frazetta class. He's a great artist who just happens to do comics. Update One: We're holding a very small Jeff Jones tribute over at Tom Moody's website. Tom, who is a professional art critic--the most intimidating writers on Earth--thinks Jeff doesn't draw feets very well. Picky guy. Update Two: Jeff apparently was trying to turn himself into a girl, at 58. I'm sympathetic, yet weirded out.

 

 

October 4

Greg Palast says Arnold is in to kiss off the 8 billion Enron debt. Sounds about right.
Chris Mooney Has A New Blog
New Changesurfer Radio show up and it features a debate between a Bright Transhumanist and an Evil  Washington Generals luddite.
More News From Turkey Guts Energy Conversion People

Your Tax Dollars at Work: Halliburton Creates Secret Police Force
Anita Roddick Piece on Slave Labor (callin' it what it is) Abroad
Well, I'm not vacationing in Kenya anymore until they do something about those penis choppers...
Apt Futurepundit Post on Solar Energy Breakthrough...

Irma Geddon

Take a Look at this Interesting Super Heroey Story About Future Soldiers. Think about the possibilities for Bone Conduction. Sounds like a stereo in your head.

September 29th

More Triumphant Tales of Occupied Iraq
Behold: Homo Technicus, or the End of Evolution. Insert your own bhahahahas here. It's at Salon so watch an ad.
More Reasons I Like Dean: Take a look at his Internet principles

Very Hot Nude Over At Sensual Liberation Army
Doc Menlo, inspired by the Cheap Labor Conservative Meme, comes up with two interesting counter culture memes of his own: Rebuild America First and Bush Party Loyalist.

 

Luis Royo has a new book out called: Visions. The above isn't from that book but it's still pretty cool.
I saw these guys on C-Span. They call themselves Win Without War. It features that Ambassador Wilson guy who Josh Marshall interviews here and here. In that first interview Marshall asks him about the situation in Iraq and Wilson, erudite and subtle diplomat that he is, said "Well I think we're fucked." Get that man a blog.
A very depressing cost of the war website. It contrasts the costs of the war with little things like what we invest in Headstart.
Long important paper about the commons that I need to finish reading.

Must Read for the Brothers Judd: The Role of Christianity in the Rise of the Nazis. I keep telling these guys that Nazism was a religious movement because of the irrationality at its core.
Reason 43 as to why the war is going badly: When the opposition videotapes their attacks.

It's official: Iraqi women no better off. IN case Riverbend hasn't clued you in.
What is 87 billion dollars worth? Hint. It's a lot.

Christian Parenti is on the ground with the troops. It's not pretty but who knew the troops had such a great sense of dark tasteless humor:

Later in the cramped main room, Sellers and Sergeant Brunelle, another one of the squad's more gregarious and dominant personalities, are matter-of-factly showing us digital photos of dead Iraqis.
"These guys shot at some of our guys, so we lit 'em up. Put two .50-cal rounds in their vehicle. One went through this dude's hip and into the other guy's head," explains Brunelle. The third man in the car lived. "His buddy was crying like a baby. Just sitting there bawling with his friend's brains and skull fragments all over his face. One of our guys came up to him and is like: 'Hey! No crying in baseball!'"
"I know that probably sounds sick," says Sellers, "but humor is the only way you can deal with this shit."

Meanwhile, MIT Technology Review is reporting that there's a faster Internet that you can put on top of the current internet and that FCC approved conglomerates will charge my First Born for...
Like the electronic paper in Minority Report? It might become a reality.

Public Citizen on Breakdown of Cancun Talks. I guess poor people don't like free trade.
Article About Law Blawgs and And Their Promotional Value

I'm constantly getting local Pittsburgh tech news from out of town. Here's a link from Daily Wireless called Pittsburgh Neighborhood Wireless.
Brin forecasted Surveillance Society of webcams everywhere detailed in latest Salon article.

Week of September 21

 

Luis Royo has a new book out called: Visions.
I saw these guys on C-Span. They call themselves Win Without War. It features that Ambassador Wilson guy who Josh Marshall interviews here and here. In that first interview Marshall asks him about the situation in Iraq and Wilson, erudite and subtle diplomat that he is, said "Well I think we're fucked." Get that man a blog.
A very depressing cost of the war website. It contrasts the costs of the war with little things like what we invest in Headstart.
Long important paper about the commons that I need to finish reading.

Must Read for the Brothers Judd: The Role of Christianity in the Rise of the Nazis. I keep telling these guys that Nazism was a religious movement because of the irrationality at its core.
Reason 43 as to why the war is going badly: When the opposition videotapes their attacks.

It's official: Iraqi women no better off. IN case Riverbend hasn't clued you in.
What is 87 billion dollars worth? Hint. It's a lot.

Christian Parenti is on the ground with the troops. It's not pretty but who knew the troops had such a great sense of dark tasteless humor:

Later in the cramped main room, Sellers and Sergeant Brunelle, another one of the squad's more gregarious and dominant personalities, are matter-of-factly showing us digital photos of dead Iraqis.
"These guys shot at some of our guys, so we lit 'em up. Put two .50-cal rounds in their vehicle. One went through this dude's hip and into the other guy's head," explains Brunelle. The third man in the car lived. "His buddy was crying like a baby. Just sitting there bawling with his friend's brains and skull fragments all over his face. One of our guys came up to him and is like: 'Hey! No crying in baseball!'"
"I know that probably sounds sick," says Sellers, "but humor is the only way you can deal with this shit."

Meanwhile, MIT Technology Review is reporting that there's a faster Internet that you can put on top of the current internet and that FCC approved conglomerates will charge my First Born for...
Like the electronic paper in Minority Report? It might become a reality.

Public Citizen on Breakdown of Cancun Talks. I guess poor people don't like free trade.
Article About Law Blawgs and And Their Promotional Value

I'm constantly getting local Pittsburgh tech news from out of town. Here's a link from Daily Wireless called Pittsburgh Neighborhood Wireless.
Brin forecasted Surveillance Society of webcams everywhere detailed in latest Salon article.

 

 

 

 

 

Week of September 14

 

The art above is taken from an Orson Scott Card Project called Robota. It looks quite impressive. Take a look at that organic machinery. (Stolen from Gravity Lens Blog)
Disruptive Solar Flares from...Other Stars? Good lord that's scary What would have happened if that was only from 100 light years away and not 40000? I guess we would have been fried to a crisp.
This year's 25 most censored stories. Of course, thanks to my leftie bookmarks, many of these stories were endlessly echo-chambered.
Here's a page that Diebold, maker of easily compromised voting machines, tried to get pulled off the internet.
Clay Shirky and Scott McCloud are having a big to do over the viability of micropayments. You can find Clay's piece here. Scott writes a small novella in response. I wish he drew it as well.
Max Sawicky provides a nice set of links about globalization. And related: both Glenn and Pejman "Our Man in Cyberspace" Yousefzadeh are claiming that American Prospect editor Robert Kuttner is getting blown away by this Swedish guy who favors globalization. Of course, in reality, this means that Kuttner is cleaning the pretty boy's clock.
Two big breakthroughs in solar cell science. Ever wonder where we would be in energy self-sufficiency if we invested 87 billion in alt fuels? Call me a dreamer. Links are here and here.
Also From Wired: Nice list of military's UAVs. I can't wait until these things get into civilian hands. For then: I Shall Fight Crime.
Meanwhile, Case lives as a White Hat Hacker.

 

 

Week of Sept. 7

I know I haven't posted much lately. I guess I'm on an unofficial vacation. I've also been taking a look at the interesting women bloggers of Pittsburgh.  I find that I like Jilly's photos more than I like her writing.  She's actually a cook at a coffee shop in Garfield that I've been in once. It's interesting in that it looks to have been started by artists and creative people and is in a clearly working class area. In fact, you go down Penn Avenue a few blocks and you'll find the headquarters of Pittsburgh's Indy Media as well, which looks to be just one small office, which looks to be within a larger community center. Radical transformative Pittsburgh lives.

And here: one of Jilly's friends spanks a stripper cop. I wasn't invited. Meanwhile, cyberstalking  looking into Starjewel's life we find that she's havin' fun and livin' life.

Woohoo! That's me in the middle of Starjewel's big-thighed friends! No it's not. Starjewel and pals look to be a Robert Crumb fantasy.

I referred to her as a "nerd" and she got defensive. But she's a coder and here's her crew at the Greater Pittsburgh Renaissance Festival.  You be the judge. That's Starjewel in the white hat thingie. Again, you be the judge.

And this must be what they call a harlot witch of the 16th century showin' me some. Truly, tis' a foul temptress and whatnot...

Welp, back to my regularly scheduled links of Bush hatred (deserved and documented hatred that has nothing to do with blowjobs) and weird science.

Den Beste links to seminal Transnational stuff here. It seems like sane behavior to me, but you know  he thinks the war is going swell.
Site that opposes water privatization.

Congressional attempt to tie peer to peer to porn. How shocking.
Earth Info Net: Nice roundup of globo critique sites.
Military Invests in Solar Power

Yet another compelling Pro Dean Argument. Here's a snippet:

"Do I love Kucinich despite the fact that he's not a minority radical feminist? Yes. Does he look like he's going to win the general election, let alone the Primary elections? I don't think so. We should really take our cue this time from France. Election cycles are not about enacting 180 degree radical political shift. Change takes time. The Republicans didn't take over in one election. George Bush is not the 1960s republican. Even Nader frequently laments that he's nostalgic for conservatives like Nixon. George Bush represents a gradual takeover (albeit one that was accelerated by illegal voter fraud in Florida).

The key is to unite. In its most crude terms, the Democratic wing of the Democratic party can be broken down into two camps: The Deans and The Kucinichs. Can we all please unite around one of them? I am more than willing to throw full support behind Kucinich if he were setting the record for fundraising, grassroots turnout, and media coverage. All I ask is the same from you because right now that person is Howard Dean.

Ryan Harlin and Lisa Eriksson live in Los Angeles, CA. Their entry into political activism was awakened from passive admiration to active participation after the attacks of September 11."

 

 

 

 

 

Just some more great Alan Moore stuff. That's the cover of a recent Promethea. By the way, there's a page of the annotated Promethea.

New Fangled Army bots and droids, some can climb walls, look like snakes...I've always thought these were the new heroes. Give me a mobile droid that can motor at 70 miles an hour and has a vidcam and I Shall Fight Crime...
Another Story About How Wind is a Winner
Popular Science's Top Ten Scientists

Brilliant Fisk. No wonder the Evil Ones hate him so.

"
"
Future reaction is equally predictable. Unable to blame their daily cup of bitterness upon Saddam's former retinue, the Americans will have to conjure up foreign intervention. Saudi "terrorists," al-Qaida "terrorists," pro-Syrian "terrorists," pro-Iranian "terrorists" -- any mysterious "terrorists" will do if their supposed existence covers up the painful reality: that our occupation has spawned a real home-grown Iraqi guerrilla army capable of humbling the greatest power on Earth
."

Inspiring Kucinich Rant, But I'm Still Not Going to Vote For Him

Funny Dean Jpeg from Fark:

I remember Rudy Rucker was entertaining me with one of his gross visions of the future by way of his book "Saucer Wisdom". In the future, girl kids rebel by growing fingers around their necks as well as other appendages. I thought that was fiction, until I saw this Warren Ellis link to some Russian kid who lost his original equipment...well, look at the picture. Go ahead. Of course, does it, like, work or anything? Is it functional? Just curious out here...

"Science as a Democratizer"
Ribofunk Watch: Grow  Your Own Drugs

 

"
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Archives

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


3clipa.gif